Tuesday, November 25, 2008

Disable WordPress Autosave Plugin

WordPress autosave is the best features which I hate in WordPress. AutoSave will auto save a copy of edited post or page every 60 seconds provided there is a change on the content in the editor. However, there is only ever a maximum of one AutoSave version for any given post. New AutoSaves created will overwrite old AutoSaves. Beside, AutoSaves are stored as a special type of revision so that the auto saved with a more recent version of data does not overwrite actual published content, and is used to restore unsaved work only when necessary.

While each Post Revisions is stored in its own database table, the auto-save is only stored once with previous versions being overwritten by the new auto-saved content. So, if you’re worried about your database growing to massive proportions because of auto-save, you can stop worrying.

These are methods that disable or delay the WordPress autosave functions.  The Most easy way is using plugin. The disabling plugin works with versions 2.3 through 2.7  while the delay configuration works with 2.5 and later.

Copy this text to a text file, name it whatever you want (using the .php extension, of course) and upload it to your WordPress plugin directory. Activate it and it works immediately, but you need to clear your browser cache:

<?php
/*
Plugin Name: Disable autosave
*/
add_action('admin_print_scripts', 'plugin_deregister_autosave');
function plugin_deregister_autosave() {
 wp_deregister_script('autosave');
}
define('WP_POST_REVISIONS',false);
?>

No comments:

Post a Comment