Tuesday, July 15, 2008

Disable Wordpress 2.6 Post Revisions

Post Revisions Tracking is a new features of Wordpress 2.6, Which makes it a lot easier to share writing between people. Since you can save your copy, and the other person can see what you changed. Also you can revert to previous revisions of posts you've made.

But if there is only one author of WordPress blog, Post Revisions will taking too much space as every revision is a new row in wp_post table. It creates a alot of useless database-entries.

To disable Post Revisions, Add:

define('WP_POST_REVISIONS', false);

into wp-config.php, the wordpress 2.6 Post Revisions now disabled.

In my little opinion, there should be an option in general or writing settings to enable/disable the post revision feature.

1 comment:

  1. You might also want to disable autosave, which also creates an extra row in the table when editing an existing post.
    define('AUTOSAVE_INTERVAL', 600000)
    sets the interval to a very long period, so you won't ever get an auto save.

    ReplyDelete